Qualified Condition

October 29, 2008

Bork Bork Bork!

Filed under: Getting Around, Non Sequiters for $500 Alex — qualifiedcondition @ 11:58 pm

Back in the day when I bought the Volvo I saw it as an opportunity to learn how to fix things on the car.  “It’s 30 years old and likely to break every now and then,” I thought to myself, “but I’ll learn how to fix it.”  My step-dad is a mechanic and my granddad used to build race cars, so I figured it’d be in my mojo somewhere.  I envisioned weekends spent with grubby hands and empty beer cans in the garage.  “If I get stuck I’ll call the Car Guys on NPR.  Or my dad.” 
Instead, whenever the car starts to make funny sounds I realize that I have no idea what the hell is wrong and I take it to Christian Johansen.  He’s a mechanic.  He’s Swedish.  HE WEARS CLOGS (pictured below).  Also he sounds like the Swedish Chef on The Muppets, if the Swedish Chef smoked Bensen & Hedges since he was 15. 

I think that the water pump needs to be replaced now, it’s a little leaky.  I’m going to fix that one myself, but I will definitely be wearing clogs and talking to myself with a Swedish accent. 

1 Comment »

  1. Yeah the whole, “simplicity and self-reliance” thing doesn’t work so well with 30 year old engines I have realized recently. I got my moped running only to realize it will never idle… ever. It’s going to the shop on Tuesday, probably for a new carburetor and some timing adjustment.

    Comment by bolig — October 30, 2008 @ 12:59 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

